Antje Schupp – LOSS & LUCK

The right words said in the right moment can be stuck in memory forever. The wrong words said in the wrong moment, too. So which words is one to chose in an existential moment of life? Maybe none?

 

Loss & Luck is a performance about death and what it teaches us about life, about loss and the luck, which you can find despite a loss. The work is about speechlessness, which one can experience in such moments of life, and about how to regain ones’ energy and faith.

 

Loss & Luck is a mourning ritual and at the same time, a credo for resurrection. In this case, not the dead rise but rather the quick, who lift themselves up by their own bootstraps and set this energy free despite adverse circumstances. One of those people is Ludwig can Beethoven, whose last piano sonata is an essential part of the performance.

 

Based on the the experience of her parents’ passing away, the performer and director Antje Schupp is collaborating with the choreographer Sigal Zouk for her second solo work. Together they create a body language, which shows universal experiences of human existence and narrates of both: of “loss” and “luck”. Always present: the belief, that a loss not necessarily only brings along a negative experience, but the possibility for transformation. Out of emptiness something new will emerge.

 

With special thanks to Kellerei Siebe. Supported by Fachausschuss Tanz & Theater BS/BL, Ernst Göhner Stiftung, Nestlé Fondation pour l’art, Schweizerische Interpretenstiftung – SIS and further supporters.

 

SHOWS
TEAM
BOOKING
Hellerau, Dresden

Saturday, 30. May 2020, 20:00

Friday, 29. May 2020, 20:00

Kaserne Basel

Sunday, 15. December 2019, 19:00

Saturday, 14. December 2019, 19:00

Friday, 13. December 2019, 19:00

Thursday, 12. December 2019, 19:00

Wednesday, 11. December 2019, 19:00 Premiere

Antje Schupp

Sigal Zouk

Christoph Rufer

Martin Gantenbein

Beatrice Fleischlin

Thomi Kohler

Susanne Affolter

Franziska Schmidt produktionsDOCK

SHOWS

Hellerau, Dresden

Saturday, 30. May 2020, 20:00

Friday, 29. May 2020, 20:00

Kaserne Basel

Sunday, 15. December 2019, 19:00

Saturday, 14. December 2019, 19:00

Friday, 13. December 2019, 19:00

Thursday, 12. December 2019, 19:00

Wednesday, 11. December 2019, 19:00 Premiere

TEAM

Antje Schupp

Sigal Zouk

Christoph Rufer

Martin Gantenbein

Beatrice Fleischlin

Thomi Kohler

Susanne Affolter

Franziska Schmidt produktionsDOCK

BOOKING

Franziska Schmidt

franziska.schmidt@produktionsdock.ch

Antje Schupp – LOSS & LUCK

Die richtigen Worte im richtigen Moment können für immer in Erinnerung bleiben. Die falschen Worte im falschen Moment auch. Welche Worte wählt man also in einem existenziellen Moment? Vielleicht gar keine?

Loss & Luck ist eine Performance über den Tod und was er uns über das Leben lehrt, über Verlust und das Glück, das man trotz eines Verlusts empfinden kann. Es ist eine Arbeit über die Sprachlosigkeit, die einen in existenziellen Lebenssituationen erfassen kann und darüber, wie man wieder Kraft und Zuversicht findet.

Loss & Luck ist ein Trauerritual und gleichzeitig ein Glaubensbekenntnis an die Wiederauferstehung. Nur stehen hier nicht die Toten auf, sondern vielmehr die Lebenden, die sich am eigenen Schopf aus dem Sumpf ziehen. Die Performance ist eine Hommage an all diejenigen Menschen, die diese Kraft in sich frei setzen trotz widriger Umstände. Einer dieser Menschen ist Ludwig van Beethoven, dessen Musik im Zentrum der Arbeit steht.

In ihrem zweiten Solo arbeitet die Performerin und Regisseurin Antje Schupp mit der Tänzerin Sigal Zouk zusammen. Ausgehend von der biographischen Erfahrung eines existenziellen Verlusts nähern sie sich in Loss & Luck dessen Überwindung über den Ausdruck durch Musik und Bewegung. Immer präsent: der Gedanke, dass ein Verlust nicht unbedingt nur Schlechtes mit sich bringt, sondern die Möglichkeit einer Transformation. Aus Leere entsteht wieder Etwas. Loss can be luck.

SHOWS
TEAM
BOOKING
Kaserne Basel

Mittwoch, 11. Dezember 2019, 19:00 Premiere

Donnerstag, 12. Dezember 2019, 19:00

Freitag, 13. Dezember 2019, 19:00

Samstag, 14. Dezember 2019, 19:00

Sonntag, 15. Dezember 2019, 19:00

Hellerau, Dresden

Freitag, 29. Mai 2020, 20:00

Samstag, 30. Mai 2020, 20:00

Antje Schupp

Sigal Zouk

Christoph Rufer

Martin Gantenbein

Beatrice Fleischlin

Thomi Kohler

Susanne Affolter

Franziska Schmidt produktionsDOCK

SHOWS

Kaserne Basel

Mittwoch, 11. Dezember 2019, 19:00 Premiere

Donnerstag, 12. Dezember 2019, 19:00

Freitag, 13. Dezember 2019, 19:00

Samstag, 14. Dezember 2019, 19:00

Sonntag, 15. Dezember 2019, 19:00

Hellerau, Dresden

Freitag, 29. Mai 2020, 20:00

Samstag, 30. Mai 2020, 20:00

TEAM

Antje Schupp

Sigal Zouk

Christoph Rufer

Martin Gantenbein

Beatrice Fleischlin

Thomi Kohler

Susanne Affolter

Franziska Schmidt produktionsDOCK

BOOKING

Franziska Schmidt

franziska.schmidt@produktionsdock.ch