Theater der Peinlichkeit – MOBBING CLOWNS

Hate is everywhere. Whether in amateur football, in Facebook comments, or in the White House. We are faced with an increased willingness to devalue people for various reasons, including blatant contempt or physical violence. But is this really a new trend, or do we simply learn more about the hate of people these days, mostly more often than we like?

And what does that mean for young people? We – Lea Whitcher, Stephan Stock and Wanja van Suntum – are developing a play that transforms the experiences and thoughts of young people into a grotesque, distorted stage language and play it back to these young people.

We assume that young people have a lot to say about hatred, mobbing and violence. And there are some things that are still listened too rarely. For the research of our piece, we collaborate with two ninth-grade Zurich school classes. We discuss with them the state of their world, the different relationships they have and how they are threatened by violence. We see the young people here as experts with whom we conduct an intergenerational dialogue at eye level. The finished play is aimed at young people aged 13 and over and will be performed in classrooms and theatres. The result is a hybrid project that brings theatre to school and the world of young people to theatre.

For the staging of these texts, the figure of the clown serves us as an aesthetic and content-related approach. The clown as an archetypal figure of world theatre is a mobber and mobbed at the same time, a horror clown and a popular figure, stupid and wise. The three perfomers Stock, van Suntum and Whitcher want to find their personal clown to approach the complex topic of violence ambivalently. They will be supported by production manager Elena Conradt and theatre pedagogue Sarah Verny. We want to search for theatrical means to counter hatred. These are means that tell of our entanglement in violence and yet try to find solace in what may be our last accessible comfort: humour.

Co-production Fabriktheater Rote Fabrik Zurich. Supported by the City of Zurich, Canton of Zurich, Schweizerische Interpretenstiftung SIS, Georg und Bertha Schwyzer-Winiker-Stiftung, Ernst Göhner Stiftung and Dr. Adolf Streuli Stiftung.

SHOWS
TEAM
BOOKING
Monheimer Kulturwerke

Tuesday, 11. February 2020, 19:30

Fabriktheater Rote Fabrik

Thursday, 28. February 2019, 20:00 Premiere

Friday, 1. March 2019, 20:00

Saturday, 2. March 2019, 20:00

Stephan Stock, Wanja van Suntum, Lea Whitcher

Sarah Verny

Elena Conradt, produktionsDOCK

Elena Conradt

elena@produktionsdock.ch

 

SHOWS

Monheimer Kulturwerke

Tuesday, 11. February 2020, 19:30

Fabriktheater Rote Fabrik

Thursday, 28. February 2019, 20:00 Premiere

Friday, 1. March 2019, 20:00

Saturday, 2. March 2019, 20:00

TEAM

Stephan Stock, Wanja van Suntum, Lea Whitcher

Sarah Verny

Elena Conradt, produktionsDOCK

BOOKING

Elena Conradt

elena@produktionsdock.ch

Theater der Peinlichkeit – MOBBING CLOWNS

 

Hass ist überall. Ob im Amateurfussball, in Facebookkommentarspalten, oder im Weissen Haus. Wir sehen uns einer gesteigerten Bereitschaft gegenüber, Menschen aus verschiedenen Gründen abzuwerten, bis hin zur unverhohlenen Verachtung oder körperlichen Gewalt. Ist dies aber wirklich ein neuer Trend, oder erfahren wir vom Hass unserer Mitmenschen heutzutage einfach nur mehr, zumeist öfter als uns lieb ist?

Und was heisst das für junge Menschen? Wir – Lea Whitcher, Stephan Stock und Wanja van Suntum – entwickeln hierzu ein Theaterstück, das die Erfahrungen und Gedanken von Jugendlichen in eine groteske, verzerrte Bühnensprache transformiert und diese so an sie zurückspielt.

 

Wir gehen davon aus, dass Jugendliche zu Hass, Mobbing und Gewalt vielerlei zu sagen haben. Und zwar einiges, dem noch viel zu selten zugehört wird. Für die Recherche unseres Stückes kollaborieren wir mit zwei Zürcher Schulklassen im neunten Jahrgang. Wir besprechen mit ihnen den Zustand ihrer Lebenswelt, die verschiedenen Beziehungen, die sie führen und wie diese durch Gewalt bedroht sind. Oder bereits darauf fussen. Wir sehen die Jugendlichen hierbei als Expert*innen, mit denen wir einen intergenerationalen Dialog auf Augenhöhe führen. Das fertige Stück richtet sich an Jugendliche ab 13 Jahren und kommt in Klassenzimmern und Theatern zur Aufführung. Es entsteht ein Hybridprojekt, dass das Theater in die Schule holt und die Lebenswelt der Jugendlichen ins Theater.

 

Für die Inszenierung dieser Texte dient uns die Figur des Clowns als ästhetisch-inhaltlicher Zugriff. Der Clown als eine archetypische Figur des Welttheaters ist ein Mobber und Gemobbter zugleich, ist Horrorclown und Sympathieträger, dämlich und weise. Die drei Perfomer*innen Stock, van Suntum, Whitcher wollen ihre persönliche Clown*in finden, um sich der komplexen Gewalt-Thematik entsprechend ambivalent zu nähern. Unterstützt werden sie dabei von der Produktionsleiterin Elena Conradt und der Theaterpädagogin Sarah Verny. Wir wollen nach theatralen Mitteln forschen, um dem Hass zu begegnen. Mitteln, die von unser aller Verstrickung in die Gewalt erzählen und sich doch in dem vielleicht letzten uns zugänglichen Trost versuchen: dem Humor.

 

Koproduktion Fabriktheater Rote Fabrik Zürich. Unterstützt von Stadt Zürich, Kanton Zürich, Schweizerische Interpretenstiftung SIS, Georg und Bertha Schwyzer-Winiker-Stiftung, Ernst Göhner Stiftung, Dr. Adolf Streuli Stiftung.

date
Team
Produktion & Booking
Fabriktheater Rote Fabrik

Donnerstag, 28. Februar 2019, 20:00 Premiere

Freitag, 1. März 2019, 20:00

Samstag, 2. März 2019, 20:00

Stephan Stock, Wanja van Suntum, Lea Whitcher

Sarah Verny

Elena Conradt, produktionsDOCK

Elena Conradt

elena@produktionsdock.ch

 

date

Fabriktheater Rote Fabrik

Donnerstag, 28. Februar 2019, 20:00 Premiere

Freitag, 1. März 2019, 20:00

Samstag, 2. März 2019, 20:00

Team

Stephan Stock, Wanja van Suntum, Lea Whitcher

Sarah Verny

Elena Conradt, produktionsDOCK

Produktion & Booking

Elena Conradt

elena@produktionsdock.ch